I Am My Father’s Son

Far away from home
Our fates unknown
The journey just began
And the struggles are endless.

Still, the unfair sun keeps glowing hotter than before,
And we are shedding our last drops of hope.
“We are never going to make it, Father! We have fought a good fight.
Let us now surrender to the scorns from life, and rest with peace.”

He looked into my eyes, like he understood my babbling.
With a swift move, he pulled me up and placed me on his shoulder,
Taking new bold steps, like he just woke up from a trance.

Father, oh father!
I admire your strength.
We have walked miles, this I am sure, even though I can not count just yet.
But your head has never been raised this high,
Shoulders never been so firm.
Your resilience to move on even when life has constrained us backward, is emboldening.

The love of a father is not often preached,
But now, with this journey of revelation,
I see just how much power your love holds.
So this is me making a pact,
I would walk with you anywhere.
And with a proud voice I would tell the world,
“I am my father’s son.”

Poem by Amaka Akiti
Youth Corps Member
Oyo State, Ibadan
.

Leave a comment